Japan in Düsseldorf and NRW

For Japan, Düsseldorf is the number one city in Germany. Traders were the trailblazers for this development that has taken place over the last six decades. The traders were followed by their families and gradually a typical infrastructure grew up: retail trade, banks, doctors, bookshops, forwarding agents, insurers, a Chamber of Commerce and Industry and a Consulate-General. A Japanese school and Japanese kindergartens were established. Since 2014 the Japanese airline ANA has been offering a direct flight connection between Düsseldorf and Tokyo. All of this allows one to speak of “Japan’s capital” on the Rhine when the subject of Düsseldorf comes up.


The Ruhr’s writing desk

In the 1920s it was initially the international port of Hamburg and then Berlin that were the most important places in Germany for Japan. After the Second World War there was huge demand in Japan for machinery and heavy industry products. Düsseldorf – then known as the “Ruhr’s writing desk”– was the ideal place to acquire this sought-after technology, in particular the know-how for steel and machine construction. Düsseldorf also benefited from its central location in Europe’s most important conurbation, thus proving to be the ideal place for the Japanese for all sales and acquisition matters.

380 Japanese companies based in Düsseldorf

After isolated Japanese “scouts” started coming to Düsseldorf as of 1952, the trading firm of Mitsubishi was listed in the local Commercial Register in 1954. The trading house of Okura & Co. followed in 1957. The Japanese community grew – slowly at first, but then very quickly – keeping time with Japan’s international commercial success. Today the Japanese community in Düsseldorf is the third-largest in Europe after London and Paris. Around 7,000 Japanese nationals live in the Düsseldorf city area alone, with some 14,000 in North Rhine-Westphalia as a whole. Almost 600 Japanese companies are operating in NRW, around 380 of them in the state capital itself. Japanese companies in North Rhine-Westphalia employ more than 32,000 people (as at 24th March 2016).

One-quarter of Japanese in Germany live in Düsseldorf

Japanese activities have long since expanded beyond the city’s borders. Companies have settled all around Düsseldorf, especially space-intensive ones. Thus more than one-quarter of the Japanese people in Germany live in the Düsseldorf region. Other cities such as Frankfurt, Hamburg and Munich – which are of interest to certain sectors – lag far behind.

Japanese Club

The Japanese Club which has more than 5,000 members and is one of the biggest such organisations in the city, was founded in 1964. One year later a Japanese Consulate opened, and was soon upgraded to a Consulate-General. Finally, in 1966, the Japanese Chamber of Commerce and Industry in Düsseldorf was founded. It started off with 60 corporate members and now has over 500 ordinary and extraordinary members.

Japanese School

The Japanese International School was founded in Düsseldorf in 1971. After some time in temporary premises, it finally found its home in a new building on the left bank of the Rhine in Oberkassel. At the time, parents formed the “Japanische International Schule e.V.” association, while the City of Düsseldorf provided the construction site. This school is modelled on the Japanese education system and is divided into 6 years of primary and 3 years of intermediary education. Almost 650 girls and boys are taught there, mainly by teachers posted from Japan. The first Japanese kindergarten was founded in 1983, and there are meanwhile four such facilities.

EKŌ House and the German-Japanese Centre

The "EKŌ House of Japanese Culture" further emphasises how at home our fellow residents from the Far East feel in Düsseldorf. It comprises a large, Japanese landscaped garden with an event and study centre, and a Buddhist temple. The German-Japanese Centre, which also adds an architectural touch of the Far East to the cityscape, was built on Immermannstrasse in 1978. This complex – then the biggest Japanese investment in Düsseldorf at a cost of around 180 million Deutschmarks – provides work for employees of around a dozen companies and institutions. It is home to the Japanese Consulate-General, the Japanese Chamber of Commerce and Industry in Düsseldorf, a travel agency, and a 600-bed hotel with Japanese restaurants.

The Japanese are part of life in Düsseldorf

Understanding, congeniality and mutual helpfulness characterise the relationship between Japanese and German citizens, encouraged by the German-Japanese Association founded in 1964, as well as by the ongoing dialogue between the City and the Japanese community. Despite the reserve that is typical of the country, Japan’s sons and daughters are a natural part of the picture at traditional Rhineland festivals, and their presence helps to enrich the city’s artistic and musical life.

Rhenish meetup for Japanese pop culture

Düsseldorf is also host to the biggest anime fan event in Germany – the DoKomi. This popular Japan Convention with a diverse exhibition and stage programme will be held at the Congress Center Düsseldorf on 23 – 24 May 2015. The focus will be on Japanese pop culture including anime, manga, games, cosplay, music, fashion and the latest trends. The DoKomi is all about innovative ideas and last year attracted over 17,000 happy visitors. More on the DoKomi at www.dokomi.de

Japanese garden

The Japanese and the people of Düsseldorf are growing ever closer, and a friendship has long since developed. As a token of thanks for the hospitality shown, the Japanese community created a Japanese Garden for the local people as early as 1975. This 5,000 square meter area in the Nordpark, which cost 1.8 million Deutschmarks at the time, has been a favourite spot for Düsseldorf locals for many years. To mark the city’s 700th anniversary in 1988, the Japanese community set up the “Düsseldorf-Japan Study Fund” which every year allows a few specialists in the region to undertake a study trip to Japan. The close contacts maintained on many levels and the wealth of events where Japanese and Germans come together are the expression of the efforts both sides are making towards mutual understanding.

Japan Day Düsseldorf/NRW

The first Japan Week in 1983 set the benchmark. Another project in this series was the Japan Year 1999/2000 which involved around 100 individual events in the City of Düsseldorf alone. The programme was planned, designed and financed by the Japanese community and the Consulate-General on the Japanese side, and by the State of North Rhine Westphalia and the City of Düsseldorf on the German side.

Since 2002, a Japan Day has been a regular event in the state capital in either May or June. It has developed into one of the most popular Düsseldorf events. Designed as a festival to bring Germans and Japanese together, the Japanese people living in Düsseldorf use the occasion to present their country’s culture. Kimono fittings, calligraphy, samurai warriors and musical groups are amongst the regular highlights. The grand finale is traditionally the huge Japanese fireworks display for which a pyrotechnician travels in from Japan with special fireworks.

The two communities have certainly grown closer over the decades of increasing collaboration. The term “Japan’s capital on the Rhine” has long since been more than just a turn of phrase.

Japan in Düsseldorf und NRW

Düsseldorf ist für Japan die Nummer eins in Deutschland. Kaufleute waren die Wegbereiter dieser Entwicklung, die sich innerhalb der letzten sechs Jahrzehnte vollzogen hat. Den Kaufleuten folgten ihre Familien, nach und nach bildete sich eine typische Infrastruktur heraus: Einzelhandel, Banken, Ärzte, Buchhändler, Spediteure, Versicherer, Industrie- und Handelskammer sowie Generalkonsulat. Eine japanische Schule entstand, auch japanische Kindergärten. Seit 2014 ist Düsseldorf über einen Direktflug der japanischen Fluggesellschaft ANA mit Tokyo verbunden. Dies alles gestattet es, von "Japans Hauptstadt" am Rhein zu sprechen, wenn die Rede auf Düsseldorf kommt.

Schreibtisch des Ruhrgebiets

In den 1920er-Jahren waren zuerst der Überseehafen Hamburg und dann Berlin für Japan die wichtigsten Plätze in Deutschland. Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg herrschte in Japan eine große Nachfrage nach Maschinen und Produkten der Schwerindustrie. Düsseldorf, damals weltbekannt als der "Schreibtisch des Ruhrgebietes", bot sich als idealer Platz an, um diese gefragte Technik, insbesondere das Know-how für den Stahl und den Maschinenbau, zu beschaffen. Aber Düsseldorf profitierte auch von seiner zentralen Lage im wichtigsten Ballungsraum Europas und erwies sich damit für die Japaner als idealer Standort in allen Vertriebs- und Beschaffungsfragen.

380 japanische Unternehmen in Düsseldorf ansässig

Nachdem schon einzelne japanische "Kundschafter" ab 1952 nach Düsseldorf kamen, wurde 1955 das Handelshaus Mitsubishi ins örtliche Handelsregister eingetragen. 1957 folgte das Handelshaus Okura & Co. Die japanische Gemeinde wuchs zunächst langsam, dann aber sehr schnell – im Tempo des internationalen Handelserfolgs Japans. Die Japanische Gemeinde in Düsseldorf ist heute, nach London und Paris, die drittgrößte Europas. Allein im Düsseldorfer Stadtgebiet leben rund 7.000 Japaner und etwa 14.000 in Nordrhein-Westfalen. In NRW sind fast 600 japanische Firmen tätig, davon circa 380 in der Landeshauptstadt selbst. In Nordrhein-Westfalen beschäftigen japanische Unternehmen rund 32.000 Menschen (Stand: 20. Mai 2016).

Ein Viertel der Japaner in Deutschland leben in Düsseldorf

Längst haben die japanischen Aktivitäten die Stadtgrenzen übersprungen. Rund um Düsseldorf haben sich vor allem flächenintensive Firmen niedergelassen. So kommt es, dass in der Region Düsseldorf mehr als ein Viertel der Japaner in Deutschland zuhause sind. Mit großem Abstand folgen erst Frankfurt, Hamburg und München, die als Standorte für bestimmte Branchen interessant sind.

Japanischer Club

1964 wurde in Düsseldorf der Japanische Club gegründet, der rund 4.000 Mitglieder hat und zu den großen Vereinen in der Stadt zählt. EinJahr später eröffnete ein japanisches Konsulat, das bald zum Generalkonsulat aufgewertet wurde. Und 1966 schließlich wurde die Japanische Industrie- und Handelskammer zu Düsseldorf gegründet, die ihre Tätigkeit mit 60 Firmenmitgliedern begann und heute mehr als 500 ordentliche und außerordentliche Mitglieder zählt.

Japanische Schule

Seit 1971 besteht in Düsseldorf die Japanische Internationale Schule, die nach einiger Zeit der Provisorien in einem Neubau im linksrheinischen Oberkassel heimisch wurde. Ein Verein "Japanische Internationale Schule e.V.", den die Eltern gebildet hatten, war als Bauherr aufgetreten, die Stadt hatte das Grundstück bereitgestellt. Diese Einrichtung lehnt sich voll an das japanische Schulsystem an und gliedert sich in eine 6-klassige Grund-  und eine 3-klassige Mittelstufe. Fast 550 Mädchen und Jungen werden dort zumeist von entsandten japanischen Lehrern unterrichtet. Ein erster japanischer Kindergarten wurde 1983 ins Leben gerufen, mittlerweile gibt es bereits vier.

EKO-Haus und Deutsch-Japanisches Center

Mit dem "EKÔ-Haus der Japanischen Kultur" unterstreichen die Mitbürger aus Fernost einmal mehr, wie sehr sie sich in Düsseldorf heimisch fühlen. Inmitten einer großen japanischen Gartenanlage stehen ein Veranstaltungs- und Studienzentrum sowie ein buddhistischer Tempel. An der Immermannstraße, im Herzen der City, entstand 1978 das Deutsch-Japanische Center, das auch architektonisch einen fernöstlichen Touch ins Stadtbild bringt. Der Komplex, mit damals rund 180 Millionen Mark noch immer die größte Einzelinvestition der Japaner in Düsseldorf, bietet Arbeitsmöglichkeiten für Mitarbeiter von rund einem Dutzend Firmen und Institutionen. Das Japanische Generalkonsulat ist dort beheimatet, die Japanische Industrie- und Handelskammer zu Düsseldorf, ein Reisebüro und darüber hinaus ein 600-Betten-Hotel mit japanischen Restaurants.

Japaner sind ein Teil des Lebens in Düsseldorf

Verständnis, Sympathie und Hilfsbereitschaft prägen das Verhältnis zwischen japanischen und deutschen Bürgern, begünstigt durch die 1964 gegründete Deutsch-Japanische Gesellschaft, aber auch durch ständige Gespräche zwischen Stadt und japanischer Gemeinde. Bei aller landestypischer Zurückhaltung: Die Söhne und Töchter Japans zählen wie selbstverständlich zum Bild der rheinischen Brauchtumsfeste, bereichern das Konzertleben der Stadt und die bildende Kunst.

DoKomi in Düsseldorf

Rheinischer Treffpunkt für japanische Popkultur

Düsseldorf ist auch Gastgeber eines der größten Anime-Fan-Treffen Deutschlands: der DoKomi. Diese beliebte Japan-Convention findet mit einem umfassenden Aussteller- und Bühnenprogramm am 30. April und 1. Mai 2016 im Congress Center Düsseldorf statt. Der Fokus liegt auf japanischer Popkultur wie Anime, Manga, Games, Cosplay, Musik, Mode sowie aktuellste Trends. Die DoKomi setzt dabei auf innovative Ideen und freute sich zuletzt über 20.000 zufriedene Besucher. Mehr zur DoKomi unter www.dokomi.de 

Japanischer Garten

Das Zusammenleben zwischen Japanern und Düsseldorfern wird immer enger, hat längst freundschaftliche Züge angenommen. Als Zeichen des Dankes für die erwiesene Gastfreundschaft richtete die Japanische Gemeindeschon 1975 den Düsseldorfer Bürgern einen Japanischen Garten ein. Die 5.000 Quadratmeter große Anlage im Nordpark, für die damals 1,8 Millionen Mark aufgewendet wurden, ist längst zu einem Lieblingsplatz der Düsseldorfer geworden. Zum 700. Geburtstag der Stadt im Jahre 1988 stiftete die Japanische Gemeinde den "Studienfonds Düsseldorf-Japan", dessen Erträge alljährlich einigen Fachleuten der Region eine Studienreise nach Japan ermöglichen. Ausdruck des Bemühens um das gegenseitige Verstehen sind enge Kontakte auf vielen Ebenen und eine Fülle von Begegnungsveranstaltungen.

Japan-Tag Düsseldorf/NRW

Maßstäbe setzte die erste Japan-Woche im Jahre 1983. In der Reihe dieser Projekte stand auch das Japan-Jahr 1999/2000 mit rund 100 Einzelveranstaltungen alleine in der Stadt Düsseldorf. Das Programm dafür wurde auf japanischer Seite von der japanischen Gemeinde und dem Generalkonsulat, auf der deutschen Seite vom Land Nordrhein-Westfalen und der Stadt Düsseldorf geplant, gestaltet und finanziert.

Seit 2002  gibt es in der Landeshauptstadt regelmäßig im Mai bzw. Juni  einen Japan-Tag. Er hat sich zu einem der beliebtesten Düsseldorfer Ereignisse  entwickelt. Im Rahmen eines deutsch-japanischen Begegnungsfestes bringen die in Düsseldorf lebenden Japaner den Besuchern die Kultur ihrer Heimat nahe. Kimono-Anproben, Kalligraphie, Samurai- und Musikgruppen gehören dabei zu den regelmäßigen Höhepunkten. Krönender Abschluss ist traditionell das große japanische Feuerwerk, für das eigens ein Pyrotechniker mit speziellen Feuerwerkskörpern aus Japan anreist.

Man ist sich näher gekommen in den Jahrzehnten der wachsenden Zusammenarbeit. Der Begriff von "Japans Hauptstadt am Rhein" hat sich längst mit Leben gefüllt.